top of page

Tamara's Blog

  • Writer's pictureTamara Dodgson

What it Really Means to Raise Your Standards



One of the reasons I entered into the field of Coaching, is because I decided long ago that I continually wanted to raise my standards in my life.


I heard early on, back in my twenties, about how learning as much as you could about something could catapult you from where you are to where you want to be. I bought it. I believed it. And I practised it.


My life, I had quickly come to recognize, was going to play out by default if I did not choose to take the reins. I had no interest in being a bystander. I wanted my life to be everything I could possibly make of it, and I knew that wasn't going to happen by choosing to be passive.


I did not grow up privileged or conveniently positioned. I grew up with a good work ethic, a healthy appreciation for everything I was given, a deep respect and compassion for other human beings, a strong desire to educate myself at every opportunity and a serious intention to leave things better than I found them.


I knew that success and achievement, if they were to come to me, would be hard won and well earned. And I was okay with that. I actually loved the idea of it, because it also checked another box on my list of inherited values. It's easy to take for granted what you haven't worked hard for.


So raising my standards was something I became accustomed to.


One thing I've come to learn over the years, is that raising your standards doesn't just mean that you get a bigger house, a better job, or a nicer car. I've learned that the concept of raising your standards can and should touch every single area of your life.


Yes, it is a wonderful and noble cause to focus on your career, to work hard, to make yourself more valuable, to seek more responsibility and eek out a better living by climbing the ladder of success. It is a worthwhile venture, to be sure, to strive for bettering yourself and your social and financial position. I actually highly recommend it.


But raising your standards in any area of your life is really a worthwhile cause, because to do so means that you are doing what we were all intended to do - and that is to expand and to grow.


As humans, if we are not growing, we are dying. There is no in between.


As a Coach, I want you to grow. I want to help you to raise your standards in every area of your life. And I want you to see and to know that you are capable and worthy of doing so.


Raising your standards means you are committing to yourself to give yourself more. More joy, more peace, more respect, more recognition, more fulfillment, more acceptance, more love, more clarity, more awareness, more energy, more enthusiasm and more life.


When you choose to install boundaries around yourself, for example, you give yourself more freedom. You free yourself of undesirable situations, undesirable expectations, undesirable demands on your time, and undesirable treatment from undesirable relationships. You set a new standard for what you are willing to accept for yourself, your time and your heart.


When you choose to address your unconscious limiting beliefs and do what it takes to transform those beliefs into something that empowers and inspires you, you raise your standards in terms of what you are willing to tolerate from your history and your past. You become enlightened to the truth of who you really are and what you are capable of as a human being.


When you decide to raise your standards around your own behaviour and you stop selling yourself short, you start raising your self esteem and you become more conscious about who you are being and becoming for the world.


When you get clear about what success in any area of your life or what your dream job looks like for you, you raise your standards in terms of what you are going for and why you are going for it. You gain a sense of purpose and alignment that brings balance and peace of mind to you.


And when you understand what needs you have been focused on and how you have been choosing to meet those needs, you begin to raise your standards in terms of making better and more conscious choices that drive you closer to the life experience that you want. You also begin to raise your standards in terms of how you judge and treat other people, because you suddenly begin to realize that we are all just trying to meet the same needs.


Raising your standards isn't about doing or becoming something that you think somebody else wants you to be - it's about becoming the person YOU want and were meant to be.


It means you have chosen to require more from life than simply surviving or scraping by. It means that you are choosing to live with intention and act according to your deepest values. It means that you recognize and acknowledge, that as long as you know you have more potential and a higher capacity to evolve and to grow, you are choosing to utilize it.


 

What's the biggest challenge you are facing in your life right now? How is that impacting you and what would it mean for you if you could overcome it? I can show you how to overcome this and any other kind of challenge quickly and easily. I can teach you how to solve complex problems with simple solutions, so you can get the results you want while saving you time, money and pain. Would that be something you would be interested in?


Contact me to find out how you can receive a one hour Complimentary Coaching Consultation Session. This free session can help you get clear about what has been holding you back, and give you the opportunity to create a powerful strategic action plan to help you achieve your goals! Click on the link below to schedule your free Consultation Session today!

Chat. Feel Better. Repeat.

 

About the author

Tamara Dodgson is a Certified Strategic Intervention Coach and owner with Forward Coaching and Consulting Services. Utilizing the most powerful principles and strategies from master Strategic Interventionists, Tamara offers a sound, knowledgeable and dependable methodology for change. She has successfully helped her clients navigate through hundreds of unique and challenging life situations, often involving complex issues such as addictions, divorce, and criminal proceedings. Tamara empowers her clients by helping them identify what they want, teaching them successful and proven strategies for change and providing them with measurable and lasting results. You can connect with her on Facebook at Forward Coaching & Consulting Services, on LinkedIn at Tamara Dodgson, on her website at www.tamaradodgson.com, or via email at coaching@tamaradodgson.com.





30 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page